The Amount of Uninsured Drivers on the Road

Getting caught driving without car insurance can cost you in monetary fines, a suspended license or registration, community service, and jail time.
· 
by
Many states require car owners to insure their vehicles before they can drive them on roadways. Even with laws in place, up to 12.6% of drivers in the U.S. are uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council. To help combat this, many states enforce insurance laws in place by penalizing individuals caught driving without car insurance.
In this article, Part 1 covers the uninsured rates in states across the U.S., and Part 2 discusses the penalties in each state if caught driving without car insurance.

Part 1 of 2: Percentage of drivers without car insurance

According to a 2014 Insurance Research Council study, more than 1 in 10 drivers in the U.S. drive without car insurance. The following table breaks down the percentage of uninsured drivers on the roadways by state:
<style type="text/css"> .tg {border-collapse:collapse;border-spacing:0;} .tg td{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;} .tg th{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;font-weight:normal;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;} .tg .tg-baqh{text-align:center;vertical-align:top} .tg .tg-lmol{font-weight:bold;font-size:20px;background-color:#ffc600;text-align:center;vertical-align:top} .tg .tg-amwm{font-weight:bold;text-align:center;vertical-align:top} </style>
state penalties
Percent of Uninsured Drivers by State
State Percentage of Drivers Without Insurance
National Average 12.60%
Alabama 19.60%
Alaska 13.20%
Arizona 10.60%
Arkansas 15.90%
California 14.70%
Colorado 16.20%
Connecticut 8.00%
Delaware 11.50%
D.C. 11.90%
Florida 23.80%
Georgia 11.70%
Hawaii 8.90%
Idaho 6.70%
Illinois 13.30%
Indiana 14.20%
Iowa 9.70%
Kansas 9.40%
Kentucky 15.80%
Louisiana 13.90%
Maine 4.70%
Maryland 12.20%
Massachusetts 3.90%
Michigan 21.00%
Minnesota 10.80%
Mississippi 22.90%
Missouri 13.50%
Montana 14.10%
Nebraska 6.70%
Nevada 12.20%
New Hampshire 9.30%
New Jersey 10.30%
New Mexico 21.60%
New York 5.30%
North Carolina 9.10%
North Dakota 5.90%
Ohio 13.50%
Oklahoma 25.90%
Oregon 9.00%
Pennsylvania 6.50%
Rhode Island 17.00%
South Carolina 7.70%
South Dakota 7.80%
Tennessee 20.10%
Texas 13.30%
Utah 5.80%
Vermont 8.50%
Virginia 10.10%
Washington 16.10%
West Virginia 8.40%
Wisconsin 11.70%
Wyoming 8.70%
Source: ### Part 2 of 2: Penalties for driving your car uninsured Each state differs on how they punish drivers who get caught driving without car insurance. The various {{6}} for driving without car insurance include:
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State
State Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Alabama First offense: license suspended for 45 days and/or a $500 fine. Succeeding offenses: license suspended up to six,months and/or a $1,000 fine.
Alaska First offense: license suspended for 90 days. Succeeding offenses: license suspended for one year.
Arizona First offense: license suspended up to three months and a $250 fine. Second offenses (within 36 months): license and registration suspended up to six months and a $500 fine. Third offense: license and registration suspended for one year and a $750 fine.
Arkansas First offense: fine of $50 to $250. Second offense: fine of $250 to $500. Succeeding offenses: fine of $500 to $1,000 and/or one year in jail.
California First offense: fine of $100 to $200. Succeeding offenses (within 3 years): fine of $200 to $500. Defendant must provide proof of insurance in court or face greater fines.
Colorado First offense: fine of $500. Succeeding offenses: fine of $1,000 and up to 40 hours of community service.
Connecticut First offense: fine of $35. Succeeding offenses: fine of $50.
Delaware First offense: license suspended for six months and a fine of $1,500 to $2,000. Succeeding offenses: license and registration suspended for six months and a fine of $3,000 to $4,000.
District of Columbia First offense: fine of $300 to $500. Succeeding offenses: fine of $500 to $2,000 and/or up to 90 days jail time.
Florida Automatic suspension of license and registration if unable to provide proof of insurance in court.
Georgia Fine of $500 and/or one year in jail. Registration suspended until fine paid and able to provide proof of insurance.
Hawaii First offense: fine of $500. Succeeding offenses: fine of $2,500. Judge can suspend the fine for the first offense and order community service.
Idaho First offense: fine of $75. Succeeding offenses: fine of up to $1,000 and/or six months in jail.
Illinois Fine of $500 to $1,000 and license suspended for three months.
Indiana First offense: Possible license and registration suspension for one year. Succeeding offenses (within five years): license suspended for one year.
Iowa Receive a traffic ticket and have the vehicle license plate and registration receipt removed. Law enforcement can also impound the vehicle.
Kansas First offense: fine of $300 to $1,000, in addition to a possible six months in jail. Succeeding offenses (within three years): suspension of license and registration and a fine of $800 to $2,500.
Kentucky First offense: fine of $500 to $1,000 and/or jail time of 90n days. Succeeding offenses (within five years): fine of $1,000 to $2,500 and/or jail time of 180 days.
Louisiana First offense: impoundment of license plate requiring a reinstatement fee of $50. Second offense: fine of $150. Succeeding offenses: fine of $500.
Maine Fine of $100 to $500 and suspension of license and registration for 30 days.
Maryland Suspension of registration for one to 30 days and a fine of $150. After 30 days, the fine increases by $7 per day to a maximum fine of $2,500 for a 12-month period.
Massachusetts First offense: fine of $500. Succeeding offenses: fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and/or jail time of one year.
Michigan Fine of $200 to $500 and/or jail time of one year.
Minnesota First offense: fine of $200 to $1,000 and/or jail time of up to 90 days. Succeeding offenses (within 10 years): fine of $200 to $3,000 and/or jail time of one year.
Mississippi Fine of $500 and jail suspension of license for up to one year.
Missouri Driver’s license suspension and assessment of points on driving record.
Montana First offense: fine of $250 to $500 and/or jail time of 10 days. Second offense (within five years): fine of $350 and/or jail time of 10 days. In addition, expect suspension or even surrender of vehicle registration and license plate until proof of insurance provided. Third or succeeding offenses (within five years): fine of $500 and/or jail time of up to six months and suspension or surrender of license plate and registration until proof of insurance shown. Fourth offense: driver’s license suspension and surrender.
Nebraska Suspension of driver’s license.
Nevada Fine of up to $1,000 plus civil penalties ranging from $600 to $1,000 and license and registration suspension.
New Hampshire Suspension of driver’s license, vehicle registration, and license plate until damages paid and pay any reinstatement and restoration fees.
New Jersey First offense: fine of $300 to $1,000, lose the right to drive for one year, and serve community service. Succeeding offenses: fine of $5,000, lose right to drive for two years, serve 30 days of community service, and jail time of 14 days.
New Mexico Suspension of registration and a fine of $300.
New York Fine of $150 to $1,500, plus a $750 civil penalty and/or jail time of up to 15 days.
North Carolina First offense: revocation of registration for 30 days and a fine of $50. Second offense (within three years): fine of $100. Third offense: fine of $150.
North Dakota First offense: suspension or revocation of registration until proof of insurance shown and a minimum fine of $150. Succeeding offenses (within 18 months): minimum fine of $300.
Ohio First offense: fine of $75, license suspended for three months, and revocation of registration. Second violation (within five years): license suspension for one year. Succeeding offenses: license suspension for two years.
Oklahoma Fine of up to $250 and/or jail time of 30 days, plus lose right to drive until pay a reinstatement fee and provide proof of insurance.
Oregon Suspension of driver’s license or revocation of vehicle registration.
Pennsylvania Fine of $300 and a suspension of driver’s license and registration for three months.
Rhode Island First offense: fine of $100 to $500 and suspension of license and registration for up to three months. Second offense: fine of $500 and up to a six-month suspension of license and registration. Third and succeeding offenses: fine of $1,000 and up to a one year suspension of license and registration.
South Carolina First offense: fine of $100 to $200 and/or jail time of up to 30 days. Second offense (within five years): fine of $200,and/or jail time of 30 days. Third or succeeding offenses (within five,years): jail time ranging from 45 days to six months.
South Dakota Suspension of driver’s license ranging from 30 days to one year.
Tennessee Fine of $100.
Texas First offense: fine of $175 to $350. Succeeding offenses: fine of $350 to $2,000.
Utah First offense: fine of $400. Succeeding offenses (within three years): fine of $1,000 and suspension of driver’s license until proof of insurance provided.
Vermont Fine of $100 and must provide proof of insurance to regain suspended driver’s license.
Virginia Suspension of driver’s license and vehicle registration.
Washington Fine of up to $250 or community restitution, such as performing community service.
West Virginia First offense: fine of $200 to $5,000, suspension of driver’s license for 30 days, and vehicle registration revoked until proof of insurance provided. Succeeding offenses: fine of $200 to $5,000 and/or jail time ranging from 15 days to one year.
Wisconsin Fine of up to $5,000.
Wyoming First offense: fine of $250 to $750, license suspended until proof of insurance provided, and/or jail time of up to six months. Succeeding offenses: fine of $500 to $1,500, suspension of license until providing proof of insurance, and/o jail time of up to six months.
Uninsured motorists drive up car insurance premiums for drivers who opt to follow the law and keep coverage on their vehicles. Luckily, many car insurance companies offer uninsured motorist coverage to help if you find yourself in an accident with an uninsured driver. Jerry can help you find affordable coverage with a car insurance company that offers the required amount of liability and uninsured motorist coverage to help keep you safe on the road.

Hate shopping for car insurance?

Jerry does that for you automatically using AI technology.
1. Tell us your name, phone and current insurance company.
2. We shop with up to 45 insurance companies to find you savings.
3. We do all the paperwork for you to switch, at no cost to you.
illustration
Contact
  • hi@getjerry.com
    1-833-445-3779
    (M-F 8am-5pm PT)
JERRY INSURANCE AGENCY is a licensed insurance broker licensed to do business in all 50 states.
Copyrights © Jerry 2018. All rights reserved.
Jerry App
Jerry automatically checks if you're paying lowest price for your car insurance, for free.